GHDPS has a number of forms and permits, some of which are available on line. Please view the following list in an effort to locate the form/permit you are seeking. In the event you are unable to locate it here, we invite you to contact our agency during regular business hours, 8:00am-5:00pm, Monday through Friday, at (616) 842-3460.
Business Emergency Notification Form
Fire Safety Audit Worksheet
Local Records Check
Lost Property Report
Parking Ticket Appeals Procedures
Precious Metal & Gem Dealer Registration
Private Property Crash Report
Public Safety FOIA Request Form
Purchase Accident Reports
Special Event Tent Form
Vacation House Check
Water Pollution Report Form
Weapon Purchase Permits are not available on line, however, you may apply in person at GHDPS, 8:00am-4:00pm, Monday-Friday, by doing the following:
1. Be a resident of the State of Michigan
2. Have a valid Michigan Driver’s License or State issued picture ID
3. Have no felony convictions
4. Be at least 21 years old (purchase from a licensed dealer), or be at least 18 years old (purchase from an individual)
If you have any questions regarding the purchase or possession of a handgun, you may call the Grand Haven Department of Public Safety Records Bureau at (616)842-3460, or contact the Michigan State Police Central Records at (517)322-5518. There is no charge for the permit itself, however there is a $10.00 notary fee.
To obtain information on obtaining a Concealed Weapons Permit, please contact the Michigan State Police at www.michigan.gov/msp or 517-284-3700.